2024 Scholarship

About the Scholarship

The scholarship is $500.00 per year for four year’s of Catholic high school education within the Diocese of Phoenix for a total of $2000.00. This scholarship is open to any boy or girl graduating from 8th grade in the spring of 2023, who meets one of the following requirements:

There is one (1) scholarship available each year.

Scholarship Contact Information


Ss. Simon & Jude Cathedral Council 12708

c/o Jim Andrews

365 E. Coronado Road

Phoenix, Arizona 85004

Judging Criteria

This scholarship is awarded by committee vote based on the following criteria:

A. Grades

B. Extra-curricular activities

C. Recommendations

D. Financial need

E. Community service

F. Essay


Knights of Columbus #12708

c/o Jim Andrews

365 E. Coronado Road

Phoenix, Arizona 85004

The winner will be notified prior to the Commencement. The Scholarship certificate will be presented at the Graduation Commencement. The winner's name will be reported to The Catholic Sun for publication.

Scholarship Application 2024 Form.pdf
Scholarship Application 2024 Rules.pdf

Congratulations to the 2023 Scholarship Winner!

Hannah Rae Corrales

This scholarship is $500.00, payable to a Catholic High School in the Phoenix Metropolitan area, and is renewable for each year of the winner's Catholic High School career (four years).

History of the Scholarship

On May 19th 2000, Council 12708 was chartered. The first Grand Knight was Richard (Dick) Chenevey. Dick served as Grand Knight for 2 years getting the Council on firm ground financially and good works with the members and the Parish. Once Dick moved to become a Trustee for the Council, talk began about the Council awarding a scholarship to an 8th grader wishing to attend a Catholic high school. The discussion eventually lead to a resolution which was proposed to the general membership on April 8 th 2003. The resolution allowed for a $2,000 scholarship award ($500 per year). Rick Garrison was Grand Knight and under his leadership, the resolution passed unanimously. The first scholarship was awarded in 2004. The scholarship recipients since then is listed below.

The scholarship has been presented to children of 12708 council members but more commonly to non-members. The recipients have gone to Bourgade, St Mary’s Xavier and Brophy. The amount of the scholarship has not changed.

Past Scholarship Winners

2004 - Phillip Heinley

2005 - Shiran Halpe

2006 - Sara Tellez

2007 - Rebecca Spencer

2008 - Maddison Rice

2009 - Eric Andrews

2010 - Kaitlyn Felix

2011 - Tessa Zacaggnio

2012 - Alexandra Kusen

2013 - Joseph Valencia

2014 - Hailee Walsh

2015 - Maria Boby

2016 - Marti Herro

2017 - Bianca Fox

2018 - Emily Nguyen

2019 - Joscelynn Perez Ramirez

2020 - Anastasia Angulo

2021 - Camila Paz Gil

2022 - Gabriella Flores

2023 - Hannah Rae Corrales

2024 - COULD BE YOU!